By the time I moved to Wellington in September of 2015, I was ready to put hostel life on hold for something a little more stable, a little more comfortable.

I found a room for rent in the quiet and largely over-looked suburb of Roseneath, a pleasant ten minute walk from the centre, just over the hill from Oriental Bay.

Instead of facing the city, we faced away, and thanks to the hill which separated us from the centre, there was very little noise pollution and it was easy to imagine you were far from the urban hustle.

Roseneath Sunset

Here’s the view from the balcony, the Miramar Peninsula striking out into the calm waters like a shodow tongue, the Wainuiomata coastline, cloud-tipped and alluring in the distance, and la Luna keeping an eye on it all.

In response to Photo Challenge: Rise/Set

Published by Regal Wildling

I am a writer and storyteller. Mostly I write about my own experiences from my travels around the world. I always try to teleport the reader into that exact time and place; to share the experience with me. I tried journalism, but in the end came back to storytelling.

Leave a comment